A bunch of Forgotten assistant coaches were remembered by the Broyles Award today

The Broyles Award is given to the assistant college football coach most likely to be offered a river barge of gold by Texas Tech this off season who best exemplifies the hard work and dedication attributed to the position. Today, the nominees for 2016 are in, as announced by the Broyles Award trustees. And several Group of Five coaches made the cut.

Arkansas State – Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Army West Point – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
Boise State – Scott Huff, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive
Brigham Young – Ed Lamb, Special Team Coordinator/Safeties
Colorado State – Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Georgia Southern – Chad Lunsford, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends
Houston – Todd Orlando – Defensive Coordinator
Louisiana Tech – Todd Fitch, Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
Navy – Ivan Jasper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Old Dominion – Brian Scott, Offensive Coordinator
Temple – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Troy – Matt Moore, Co-Offensive Coordinator
UCF – Erik Chinander, Defensive Coordinator
Western Kentucky – Tony Levine, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Special Teams Coordinator
Western Michigan – Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

It’s worth noting that never has a Group of Five assistant coach won this award in its seven years of existence. Check here for the complete list of nominees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s