The Forgotten raid the 2017 Bednarik and Maxwell Watchlists

It’s “Watch List Season,” and you can tell because it’s as humid as a gorilla’s armpit outside and mysterious organizations are posting watch lists. You may take a very dim view of Watch Lists. It’s noise signifying nothing, right? Still, when your favorite player or team is snubbed by one list or another, it can hurt, man. Deep down.  (Deeeeeeper….)

Monday morning, the Bendarik (best college defensive player) and the Maxwell (college player of the year) submitted their watch lists to the masses. As usual, we don’t care about the Power Five players that are 99% most likely to win. WE CARE ONLY TO REMEMBER THE FORGOTTEN!

The Bendarik Award

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Last year, the hardware was delivered to Johnathan Adams of Alabama. The last year a Forgotten won? In 2015, Temple legend Tyler Matakevich earned the nod. This year’s Forgotten nominees:

Sean Chandler, Safety, Temple

Jaylon Ferguson, DE, Louisiana Tech

Shaquem Griffin, LB, UCF

Heath Harding, CB, Miami (OH)

Justin Lawler, ED, SMU

David Moa, NT, Boise State

Deatrick Nichols, CB, USF

Ed Oliver, DT, Houston

Ja’Von Rolland-Jones, DE, Arkansas State

Jahlani Tavai, LB, Hawaii

Micah Thomas, LB, Navy

Andrew Wingard, Safety, Wyoming

In total, of the whopping 86 nominees, twelve hail from the ranks of Forgotten. That’s 14% if you’re into percentages.

The Maxwell Award

The Maxwell Award has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937. Last year, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson received the honor. The last Forgotten to collect a Max? If you count BYU (and I don’t), it was Ty Detmer in 1990. Not counting BYU, it’s Steve Joachim from Temple in 1970. Yeah, we’re overdue.

Josh Allen, QB, Wyoming

D’Angelo Brewer, RB, Tulsa

Riley Ferguson, QB, Memphis

Quinton Flowers, QB, USF

James Gilbert, RB, Ball State

Ray Lawry, RB, Old Dominion

Jalin Moore, RB, Appalachian State

Ed Oliver, DT, Houston

Rashaad Penny, RB, San Diego State

Larry Rose III, RB, New Mexico State

Brett Rypien, QB, Boise State

Brandon Silvers, QB, Troy

Ito Smith, RB, Southern Miss

Brent Stockstill, QB, Middle Tennessee

Mike White, QB, Western Kentucky

Logan Woodside, QB, Toledo

Of the 85 nominees selected for the Maxwell, 16 hail from the Forgotten (about 19%). Look out, Steve Joachim!

Next Up, July 11: John Mackey Award (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding tight end), Rimington Trophy (Presented to the nation’s premier center)

Got snubbed? Watch List Season is just beginning.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s