The Forgotten adds serious beef to The Outland and Nagurski watch lists!

Yesterday, steely-nerved accuracy and precision was put on watch. Today, it’s all beef and braun. This morning, watch lists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player) and Outland Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) were released to an adoring public. So beefy!

As usual, we’re concerned not with the P5 superstars, but only with the Forgotten. Sorry not sorry.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The Football Writers Association of America (still waiting on my invite) has passed out the Nag since 1993. Last year’s winner: Johnathan Adams from (yawn) Alabama. The last Forgotten to claim the prize: Tyler Matakavich from Temple in 2015. We can do this!

LB Alex Aukerman, Army West Point

LB Genard Avery, Memphis

LB Eric Boggs, Appalachian State

DB Blace Brown, Troy

LB Steve Casali, Massachusetts

DB Andre Chachere, San Jose State

DB Sean Chandler, Temple

DE Aikeem Coleman, Idaho

LB Emmanuel Ellerbee, Rice

DT Folorunso Fatukasi, UConn

DE Jaylon Ferguson, Louisiana Tech

LB Ulysees Gilbert III, Akron

LB Shaquem Griffin, UCF

DB Heath Harding, Miami (Ohio)

DE Justin Lawler, SMU

DB Shawun Lurry, NIU

DT David Moa, Boise State

DB Deatrick Nichols, USF

DT Ed Oliver, Houston

DB Jeremy Reaves, South Alabama

DE Malik Reed, Nevada

DE Ja’Von Rolland-Jones, Arkansas State

LB Auggie Sanchez, USF

DT Deadrin Senat, USF

LB Jahlani Tavai, Hawaii

LB Micah Thomas, Navy

DB Andrew Wingard, Wyoming

DB Jaden Wright, New Mexico State

If this seems like a lot of guys, it’s because it’s a lot of guys. It’s a meaty list! Twenty-eight out of 103 Nagurski nominees hail from the Group of Bad Ass (and Independent Forgottens).

The Outland Trophy

Since 1946 the Football Writers Association of America (still no invite) has recognized the nation’s best interior lineman. Last year, the FWAA handed the hardware to Cam Robinson of (yawn) Alabama. The last Forgotten to earn the FWAA’s respect was Chad Hennings from the Air Force in 1987. Hey that’s 30 years ago, man! 

C Jake Bennett, Colorado State

C Evan Brown, SMU

OT Austin Corbett, Nevada

G O’Shea Dugas, Louisiana Tech

DT Folorunso Fatukasi, UConn

G Colby Gossett, Appalachian State

G Will Hernandez, UTEP

C John Keenoy, Western Michigan

G Gabe Kuhn, Memphis

G Jimmy Leatiota, Eastern Michigan

OT Archie Lewis, Boise State

G Evan Martin, Navy

C Chandler Miller, Tulsa

DT David Moa, Boise State

OT Elijah Nkansah, Toledo

OT Chukwuma Okorafor, Western Michigan

DT Ed Oliver, Houston

DT Jamiyus Pittman, UCF

OT Evan Plagg, Tulsa

C Jake Pruehs, Ohio

OT Max Scharping, NIU

DT Deadrin Senat, USF

OT Brett Toth, Army West Point

Is it just you, or does it seem like Houston’s Ed Oliver is on every one of these damn lists? If he wins the Ray Guy this year, I wouldn’t be surprised. I’d just nod and continue drinking Scotch. Of the 81 players selected for the Outland, a solid 23 are G5 or an independent equivalent. Not too shabby.

Up Next, July 14: The Jim Thorpe Award (Presented to the nation’s best defensive back)

Today it was beef. Tomorrow, it’s speed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s