The Forgotten Watch’n Continues: Butkus and Hornung Watch Lists Released

Watch Week Watch enjoyed a relaxing weekend, but now it’s back to business. On Monday morning, the Butkus Award (presented to the nation’s best linebacker) and the Paul Hornug Award (presented to the most versatile player in college football) released their watch lists to the screaming masses. Per our glorious tradition, our lists are carefully scrubbed of P5 nominees so that you may enjoy the pure purity of Forgotten-ness.

Butkus Award

The Butkus Foundation handed out the first Butkus to Brian Bosworth in 1985 (and then handed it to The Boz again in 1986). The last guy to win this thing: Reuben Foster of (yawn) Alabama. The last Forgotten to touch a Butkus: bumpkiss! Apparently, the Forgotten hasn’t had a decent linebacker in more than three decades.

Genard Avery, Memphis

Eric Boggs, Appalachian State

Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State

Shaquem Griffin, UCF

Junior Joseph, Connecticut

D.J. Palmore, Navy

Sione Teuhema, Southeastern Louisiana

If you think this Butkus looks skinny, you’re right! Of the 51 players named to the list, a mere five hail from the Group of Five (two star for the FCS). That’s some weak sauce, Butkus. Congrats to Eric Boggs, the only G5 linebacker to make the list that doesn’t play for the AAC.

Paul Hornung Award

Honoring the “McGyver’s” of the game, the Louisville Sports Commission has awarded a Hornung to the most versatile of college football players since 2010, with Jabrill Peppers of Michigan being the latest. A Forgotten has never won, but it’s only a matter of time, right?

Andrew Celis, Nevada

Nacarius Fant, WKU

Richie James, Middle Tennessee

D’Ernest Johnson, USF

Xaiver Johnson, South Alabama

Keith Kirkwood, Temple

Rashaad Penny, San Diego State

Darius Phillips, Western Michigan

Tony Pollard, Memphis

Allenzae Staggers, Southern Mississippi

Blaise Taylor, Arkansas State

Braeden West, SMU

Cedrick Wilson, Boise State

This is how you compose a watch list, Butkus Foundation. Of the 46 named to the Hornung, 13 are Group of Five super-studs. See? That’s not hard.

Up Next, July 18: The Biletnikoff Award (Presented to the nation’s outstanding college receiver) and the Wuerffel Trophy (Presented to the player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s