Watch List Watch goes deep! Biletnikoff and Wuerffel Lists Released

Perhaps you believe that there is no end to Watch List Watch? Sorry, bros. Just like Paleozoic Era and Seinfeld, everything good ends. The last Watch List, the Walter Camp, will be released July 21st. Meanwhile, we explore today those brilliant football players named to The Biletnikoff Award (Presented to the nation’s outstanding college receiver) and the Wuerffel Trophy (Presented to the player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement).

Nope, we don’t care about the Power Five players on these lists. I’m sure they’re nice enough fellows, but you’ll find those names on plenty of outlets not called Forgotten 5. Instead, we stay on brand and focus on only the Forgotten.

The Biletnikoff Award

Since 1994, the somber members of the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation gather at a finely appointed Applebees and determine who among us are the very best college football wide receivers. Last superstar to Catch a Bilet™? Dede Westbrook of Oklahoma. The last Forgotten to win? Louisiana Tech’s Troy Edwards in 1998, which followed Randy Moss’ win out of Marshall. Good times! 

Sergio Bailey II, Eastern Michigan

Linell Bonner, Houston

Adam Breneman, Massachusetts

Ventell Bryant, Temple

Deondre Douglas, Troy

Jonathan Duhart, Old Dominion

Michael Gallup, Colorado State

James Gardner, Miami (Ohio)

Devin Gray, Cincinnati

Andy Isabella, Massachusetts

Richie James, Middle Tennessee

Jon’Vea Johnson, Toledo

KeeSean Johnson, Fresno State

Tre’Quan Smith, UCF

Allenzae Staggers, Southern Miss

Courtland Sutton, SMU

Cody Thompson, Toledo

Emanuel Thompson, Troy

Jimmy Williams, East Carolina

Corey Willis, Central Michigan

Cedrick Wilson, Boise State

In all, 21 G5 wide receivers make this list, which gives the Group of Five a good chance to pick up a Biletnikoff for the first time in decades. Yay.

The Wuerffel Trophy

The Wuerffel recognizes a player’s achievements off the field and in the community, which in these mean times is more important than ever. All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach has awarded the honor since 2005, the last handed to Trevor Knight of Texas A&M. The last Forgotten to Win a Wuerf™? Tim Hiller of Western Michigan.

A.J. Coney, Akron, Senior, WR

Zach Guiser, Akron, Senior, DB

Taylor Lamb, Appalachian State, Senior, QB

Blaise Taylor, Arkansas State, Senior, DB/ST

Vinnie Palazeti, Ball State, Senior, OL

Brett Rypien, Boise State, Junior, QB

Zack Golditch, Colorado State, Senior, OL

Davon Grayson, East Carolina, Senior, WR

Jeremiah Harris, Eastern Michigan, Junior, DL

Greg Joseph, Florida Atlantic, Senior, PK

Noah Borden, Hawaii, Junior, LS/ST

Steven Dunbar, Houston, Senior, WR

Kayden Elliss, Idaho, Junior, LB

Matt Bahr, Kent State, Junior, LB

Grant Horst, Louisiana, Senior, OL

Boston Scott, Louisiana Tech, Senior, RB

Ryan Yurachek, Marshall, Senior, TE

Spencer Smith, Memphis, Senior, P

James Gardner, Miami (Ohio), Junior, WR

Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee, Sophomore, QB

Andrew Wood, Navy, Junior, OL

Austin Corbett, Nevada, Senior, OL

Max Scharping, NIU, Junior, OL

Andy Flusche, North Texas, Senior, DL

Max Scharping, Northern Illinois, Junior, OL

Josh Marriner, Old Dominion, Senior, RB

David Wells, San Diego State, Senior, TE

Nate Velichko, San Jose State, Senior, OL

Justin Lawler, SMU, Senior, DL

Tre Alford, South Alabama, Senior, DL

Keith Kirkwood, Temple, Senior, WR

Gabe Schrade, Texas State, Senior, TE

Gabe Lloyd, Texas State, Senior, LB

James Sherman, Texas State, Junior, PK/P

Tyler Watts, Texas State, Junior, WR

Tryston Mizerak, Texas State, Senior, OL

Cody Thompson, Toledo, Senior, WR

Seth Calloway, Troy, Senior, DL

Parry Nickerson, Tulane, Senior, DB

Willie Wright, Tulsa, Junior, OL

Shaquem Griffin, UCF, Senior, LB

Folorunso Fatukasi, UConn, Senior, DL

Adam Breneman, UMass, Senior, TE

Auggie Sanchez, USF, Senior, LB

Dallin Leavitt, Utah State, Senior, DB

Ryan Metz, UTEP, Junior, QB

Marcus Davenport, UTSA, Senior, DL

Mike White, Western Kentucky, Senior, QB

Jamauri Bogan, Western Michigan, Junior, RB

What the heck is going on at Texas State? Five uncommonly altruistic athletes in San Marcus are on the The Wuerffel. Nice!

Up Next, July 19: Davey O’Brien Award (Presented to the nation’s best quarterback)

Every team has a great QB, right?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s