Forgotten Under Center: Davey O’Brien Watch List Released

Ooooh, the good stuff! Quarterbacks! Get u sum! The Davey O’Brien Award is presented to the best college football quarterback in the nation. And the Group of Five has some intriguing arms this year, with guys like Josh Allen (Wyoming), Quinton Flowers (USF), Logan Woodside (Toledo), Brandon Silvers (Troy) and Brett Stockstill turning heads.

As usual, we care not for the P5 candidates that made the list. Here, you shall only find the Forgotten.

Davey O’Brien Award

The Davey O’Brien Foundation has handed out hardware to the nation’s best college QB since 1981, first honoring BYU’s Jim McMahon. The last signal caller to win: Deshaun Watson of Clemson, for the 2nd straight year. The last Forgotten: well, Andre Ware of Houston won it in 1989. That kinda counts?

Josh Allen, Wyoming

Riley Ferguson, Memphis

Quinton Flowers, USF

Brett Rypien, Boise State

Brandon Silvers, Troy

Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee

Mike White, Western Kentucky

Logan Woodside, Toledo

It’s a tight list overall – just 30 players, and not one Group of Five conference landed more than two candidates. Still, some pretty nifty names make the list. Pretty. Nifty.

Up Next, July 20: The Doak Walker Award (Presented to the nation’s premier running back)

Run the damn ball.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s