Announcing the Winner of the Inaugural Forgotten 5 Byron Leftwich Award

After running two votes, one via twitter and one staff vote, the winner of the first Byron Leftwich Award is ready to be announced.

After winning the staff vote by garnering 60 percent of the votes, San Diego State running back Rashaad Penny is the winner of the Leftwich Award!

Penny placed second behind Ahmad Bradshaw in the twitter vote with 32 percent while Bradshaw finished with 39 percent of the fan vote. The full results are below.

  • RB Rashaad Penny    SDSU    49.5%
  • QB Ahmad Bradshaw    Army    34.5%
  • RB Devin Singletary    FAU    8.5%
  • QB McKenzie Milton    UCF    6.5%

Penny finished the season with a nation-leading 2,248 rushing yards on just 289 carries. That equates to a highly impressive 7.78 yards per carry. Penny found the end zone 23 times on the ground, second in the country and only behind Leftwich finalist Devin Singletary’s 32 scores. Penny ended the 2017 campaign with the fifth most rushing yards in a single season in FBS history. He passed former teammate Donnell Pumphrey’s 2,133 yard 2016 season.

National Awards

Offensive Player of the Year Award

QB McKenzie Milton UCF- 25 votes

249/360 3,795 yards 35 TD 9 INT

2. RB Rashaad Penny SDSU- 18 votes

3. RB Devin Singletary FAU- 15 votes

4. QB Riley Ferguson Memphis- 13 votes

5. WR Anthony Miller Memphis- 10 votes


Defensive Player of the Year Award

DE Ja’Von Rolland-Jones Arkansas State- 23 votes

56 tackles 19 TFL 13 sacks

2. DE Sutton Smith NIU- 19 votes

3. LB Frank Ginda  SJSU- 13 votes

4. LB Shaquem Griffin  UCF- 11 votes

T5. DE Brian Womac  Rice- 8 votes

T5. DE Joe Ostman  CMU- 8 votes



Ret Marcus Jones Troy- 24 votes

29 KR 879 yards 30.31 YPR 3 TD

2. Ret Marcus Green ULM- 16 votes

3. P Corey Bojorquez UNM- 12 votes

4. K Trevor Moore UNT- 6 votes

5. Ret Mike Hughes UCF- 5 votes


Comeback Team of the Year

UAB Blazers- 29 votes

8-5 in first season of return to football

2. Florida Atlantic- 15 votes

T3. New Mexico State- 11 votes

T3. Fresno State- 11 votes

5. North Texas- 9 votes


That about wraps up our national awards. Coming on Monday, we will present the winner of our very first Coach of the Year Award!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s